LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): A-Z

What is OER?

Open Educational Resources (OER) is defined by UNESCO as "teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions."

Copyright Compliance

Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely available for educational use with protection by copyright laws. Users are reminded to observe the Terms of Use or Usage Agreement available on the website before reusing or adapting the materials.

Creative Commons (CC) Licenses are a few of the widely used licenses for OER. To know more about CC Licenses, please visit About CC Licenses.

Search

Title Search Title and Content Search

OER (A-Z)

Description

Activities for ESL students A website with quizzes, exercises and puzzles to help students learn English as a Second Language.
American Psychological Association APA is a scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States. The website includes professional reports, papers, discussions, and publications related to psychological science.
AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. The resources are mostly related to maths and science.
arXiv.org e-Print archive arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for over 2 millions scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Description

B.C. Open Collection The B.C. Open Collection is a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) that can be accessed by educators to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms.
BioMedCentral Open Access BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed open access journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Their leading research journals include selective titles such as BMC Biology, BMC Medicine, Genome Biology and Genome Medicine, academic journals such as Journal of Hematology & Oncology, Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC series.

Description

CCCOER The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER) is a division of Open Education Global (OEG), aiming to promote the awareness and adoption of open educational policies, practices, and resources. Users can find OER by browsing the OER repositories listed in their website.
ccMixter ccMixter is a community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses. Music on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
The Chinese University of Hong Kong Electronic Theses & Dissertations Collection The CUHK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Collection (the ETD Collection) holds the full-text of research degree’s theses and doctoral dissertations submitted by postgraduate students of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) since 1967.
Cinematic Realism - Documentary Film Website This website contains resources of a research programme, which explore the field of South and South-East Asia documentary film (including Hong Kong/Macau) as a historical and contemporary phenomenon.
Computing Research Repository (CoRR) Computing Research Repository (CoRR) is one of the repository in arXiva, a curated research-sharing platform open to anyone. It hosts scholarly articles in computer science.
Core Econ: Economics for a Changing World CORE (Curriculum Open-access Resources in Economics) provides free online textbooks and resources for relevant and real-world economics teaching and learning.
Cornell Open Cornell Open is a global open access portal for both new and classic out-of-print titles from the distinguished catalog of Cornell University Press. It offers open access to key titles in the fields of anthropology, classics, political science, literary criticism and theory, German studies, and Slavic studies.
Culture and Society of Hong Kong: A Bibliography This bibliography categorizes selected academic publications on the culture and society of Hong Kong, aiming to facilitate research on Hong Kong.

Description

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books DOAB is a discovery service for peer reviewed open access books and book publishers that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed books.

Description

EF: Resources for learning English The website provides a collection of free English learning resources.
English as a Second Language This website provides ESL open education resources. It contains a multitude of English teaching and learning materials, including over 3,000 conversations covering various topics, more than 2,500 short essays with numerous vocabulary and grammar exercises designed for learners at different levels.
English Club English Club is a free website designed to help learning English online. Resources include lessons, activities, quizzes, etc..
ePrints.org EPrints is an open-source digital repository platform developed at the University of Southampton. It provides services to building & hosting repositories for institutions.
Essential Basic Law Knowledge for College Students This e-book is published by CPCE Employability Services Office (CESO) to enhance students' understanding of the Basic Law. It covers a wide-range of aspects including education, economy, culture development etc.
ETF: Resource library The Excellence Gateway is the Education and Training Foundation’s resources portal and provides online access to resources for everyone working in the wider learning and skills sector. There are over 7,000 resources that can be searched.
Europeana Europeana provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with digital access to European cultural heritage materials. Resources include artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, etc..

Description

Freeicons Freeicons is a platform for designers and developers for a wide variety of high-quality icons of different styles, sizes with SVG, PNG, AI, EPS and PSD formats that could be used in all their personal and commercial projects.
Freeimages Freeimages is an alternative for paid stock photography. Users can gain access to hundreds of thousands of stock photos and graphics for free.
Free Music Archive Free Music Archive (FMA) offers free access to open licensed, original music. Most of the music on the platform is licensed under Creative Commons licenses. Check the conditions applied before re-using the song.

Description

Google Image (Advance Search) Free images can be searched via Google image by limiting the search by "usage rights" (e.g. Creative Commons licenses)
Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. User can search across disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.

Description

HathiTrust Digital Library HathiTrust is a collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. It offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
Historical Laws of Hong Kong Online (1890 - 1989) The Historical Laws of Hong Kong Online is a full-text image database providing access to past revised editions of Hong Kong Laws. The database comprises a total of seven consolidations of the laws of Hong Kong: 1890, 1901, 1912, 1923, 1937, 1950, and 1964 (last updated to 1989).
HKBU Heritage HKBU Heritage is an online portfolio to showcase HKBU faculty and outstanding student productions. Apart from serving as an important archive, this platform also provides easy access to outstanding works to support teaching and learning.
HKBU Honours Projects This database contains records of selected Honours Projects undertaken by HKBU final-year students. Projects include research papers, music compositions, design projects, computer programs, or other non-print formats. Full-text papers are provided for some Honours Projects in PDF format.
HKedCity — English Campus The EdCity portal (EdCity.hk) is an one-stop professional education portal in Hong Kong. It is replete with information, resources, interactive communities and online services, which promote the use of information technology (I.T.) to boost the effectiveness of learning and teaching.
HKUST Electronic Theses HKUST Electronic Theses contains full images of the doctoral dissertations and master's theses for most of HKUST's postgraduate students. Access to the database is available globally.
Hong Kong e-Legislation Hong Kong e-Legislation (HKeL) is the official database of Hong Kong legislation. It provides free online access to current and past versions of consolidated legislation dating back to 30 June 1997 and PDF copies marked “verified copy” have official legal status. Different searching and viewing modes are available to facilitate access to law.
Hong Kong Journals Online Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education.
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University Theses The Hong Kong Polytechnic University Theses collects full-text theses and dissertations from PolyU MPhil and PhD students.
Hong Kong Solar Map Hong Kong Solar Map is an online map that indicates the solar potential of the buildings in Hong Kong.

Description

IDEAS IDEAS is a bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 3,900,000 items of research, including over 3,500,000 that can be downloaded in full text.
IntechOpen IntechOpen provides open access books in subjects including Physical Sciences, Engineering and Technology, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
Internet Archive: Audio Archive This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by users. Many of the audios and MP3s are available for free download.

Description

Jamendo Jamendo Music provides a wide catalog of more than 500,000 tracks shared by 40,000 artists from over 150 countries all over the world. All the music are free for steaming and download.
JSTOR Register & Read - Free and Online Access Journals JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Description

Khan Academy Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard for learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. Subjects include math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, etc..

Description

Lingnan University Theses and Dissertations This platform contains theses and dissertations produced in Lingnan University. Most of the full text are available online (open access) if permitted by the author.

Description

MERLOT The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. Its collection consists of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections.
Milne Open Textbooks Milne Open Textbook is a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

Description

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) This search engine includes over 6 millions electronic theses and dissertations contained in the NDLTD archive.
New York Public Library Digital Collections: Public Domain Items This is New York Public Library's digital collections of its public domain items, over 180,000 items are included. Download of these items in high resolution is available directly from the Digital Collections website.

Description

OASIS Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that currently searches open content from 113 different sources and contains over 440,000 records.
OER Commons OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. As a network for teaching and learning materials, the site offers engagement with resources for curriculum alignment, quality evaluation, social bookmarking, tagging, rating, and reviewing.
OERu The OERu network of institutions offers free online courses for students worldwide. Users can take university-level courses online for free and submit assessments.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks OAPEN builds a quality-controlled collection of open access books. It operates three platforms, including OAPEN Library, OAPEN Open Access Books Toolkit and Directory of Open Access Books.
Open Education Global Open Education Global (OEG) is a non-profit, global, members-based network of open education institutions and organizations. This website contains a platform to find, reuse, create and share Open Educational Resources (OER).
Open Education Manitoba Open Education Manitoba partnered with BCcampus to feature over 380 open resources that are regularly reviewed and updated. Many also align with accessibility standards and/or include ancillary resources.

Description

PIXNIO: Public Domain Images PIXNIO is a repository for public domain photos ( no rights reserved images). All photos on this site are explicitly placed in the public domain.
PLOS - Public Library of Science PLOS is a Open Access publisher in science and medicine. It publishes a suite of Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. They are peer reviewed and immediately available without restrictions.

Description

ScienceDaily ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations. Users can browse more than 500 individual topics, covering: the medical sciences and health; physical sciences and technology; biological sciences and the environment; and social sciences, business and education.
SourceForge.net SourceForge is an Open Source community resource. Users can develop, download, review, and publish open source and business software on the website.
SpringerOpen SpringerOpen includes open access books and Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science. The journals and books are made freely and permanently available online immediately upon publication.

Description

TED TED is a platform for spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks. TED Talks are available under Creative Commons BY-NC-ND license.

Description

The University of Hong Kong Theses The Hong Kong University Theses Collection holds theses and dissertations submitted for higher degrees to the University of Hong Kong since 1941. Full text is available online (open access) if permitted by the author.
UsingEnglish.com: English Language Reference Glossary of the English Language provides fully cross-referenced glossary of English grammar terms. Each of the linguistic and grammatical definitions contains an explanation of the meaning or each term, and is cross-references to other relevant English term.
USPTO Web Patent Databases The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. The website provides web-based patent and trademark search.

The Wall Street Journal Asia The Wall Street Journal Asia, a version of The Wall Street Journal, provides news and analysis of global business developments for an Asian audience.

Description

漢學研究中心專題資料庫 Full-text Database of CCS Publications 網站包括典藏國際漢學博士論文摘要、漢學研究中心典藏書刊目錄、明人文集聯合目錄及篇目索引、兩漢諸子研究論著目錄資料庫、經學研究論著目錄資料庫及敦煌學研究論著目錄資料庫等。
當代中國剪報資料庫 Contemporary China Newspaper Clippings Database 「當代中國剪報資料庫」是由香港浸會大學圖書館建立，旨在為公眾及研究人員提供有關中國大陸、香港、臺灣三地的政治、社會、財經、文教等新聞資料。所有剪報均取材自 1992 至 1998 年出版的香港報章。
臺灣博碩士論文知識加值系統 National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan 此系統收錄臺灣各大專院校之博碩士論文資料。除提供摘要外，1998年後已獲作者授權之論文亦提供電子全文下載的服務。